ComboFix to the Rescue!

Where other anti-malware products failed, ComboFix triumphed.  I had a nasty, evil trojan on my computer (a DNSHijacker variant of some kind) that was redirecting me to toseeka.com (among other places) when I would click on links from Google searches.

I tried several virus and malware scanners and they either failed to detect any problems, or were powerless to do anything about it.   I tried running them in safe mode, waiting for new definitions and updates, etc…no help.

This thing I had was apparently able to hide out and rename/copy itself pretty cleverly.  ComboFix closes down all your programs (including your explorer shell!) and digs deep.  I’ve had misc. infections on my computer before, but none have ever been this tough to clear up.

I’m not sure how I got the trojan, but I have re-installed AdBlock on Firefox and I’m doing a Windows Update first thing after I whip this post out.  I took off AdBlock because I want to help support all the great sites I visit.  But until ad distribution systems become a bit safer, I’m back to blockin’.

I’m also shopping for a good all-around antivirus solution.  This computer needs a nuke ‘n pave.  The current install is about 18-20 months old, which is ancient for me.  I’m thinking about trying out Windows 7.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Max H. on July 16, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Awesome! My computer should be fine now!

Leave a Reply

