Gonk’s running better than ever.

I have a 1999 Golf (nicknamed “Gonk”) that I picked up from a used car lot a few years ago. Ever since I got it, it’s had this hesitation after it warms up. I finally fixed it tonight!

Turns out it was the crankcase ventilation hose. The thing was cracked right where it hooks into the block. The entire hose was brittle, and grimy as hell. I popped over to the local generic parts shop and they didn’t have a replacement. But they did have some heater hose that fit the bill.

I had to trim away a bit of the inner diameter from the end of the hose in order to fit the little metal pipe into it (and do a lot of pushing and cursing), but it seems to be doing its job just fine.

Gonk is running better than I’ve ever seen. I no longer have to put my foot in it to get it to move. It’s very smooth.

The thing that irritated me most about the problem was how inconsistent it was. As a programmer, I can’t stand intermittent bugs. Sometimes the thing would run like it was on rails, other times it would sputter and barely be able to move from a dead stop. It would take forever to get up to speed. I’m pretty sure the hose was fluctuating between being sealed and unsealed, which cause the ECU (Engine Control Unit) to get bad data and freak out.

Now I just need to get a new clutch and buy some shocks/struts to replace the worn-out sponges that are impersonating a suspension. After that, I’m probably going to drop a mild cam/chip combo in it.

(Some info for fellow veedubbers out there: i have the 2.0 8 valve ABA engine, OBDII. Gonk is a silver mkIII wolfsburg edition. I hope to change the 2-point-slow into a 2-point-go over the course of the next year or so)

Leave a Reply

